Entries now open for the World Steak Challenge

By Gwen Ridler

- Last updated on GMT

Entries are now open for the World Steak Challenge 2024
Entries are now open for the World Steak Challenge 2024

Related tags ESG Innovation

The search is on for the world’s best steak, as entries open for the prestigious World Steak Challenge (WSC).

Now in its 10th​ year, the WSC shines a spotlight on the very best steaks, producers and suppliers from across the globe as they compete for the title of the world’s best steak.

Beef and steak producers, wholesalers and retailers have until 8 July to enter the 2024 competition,​ which will be judged by a panel of experts from all over the world in September at Vlees & Co Steak Restaurant in Amsterdam.

Categories open for entry this year are Fillet, Sirloin and Ribeye and the new category Wagyu, with the best performing steaks awarded much coveted gold, silver or bronze medals.

Global competition

All Gold medal winning steaks automatically qualify for our international categories, where we announce the best steak from Asia, Europe, North America, Oceania and South America. One producer will also claim the coveted overall title of The World's Best Steak.

Winners for this year’s WSC will be announced at a special awards dinner held at Smith and Wollensky on Monday 11 November.

This year’s competition also introduces a slew of new awards up for grabs, including the Environment, Social and Governance Award, the Small Producer Award, the Large Producer Award and the Innovation Award.

Stefan Chomka, Restaurant editor, said: “The WSC remains the must-enter competition for steak producers and suppliers to allow them to showcase their product quality and breed credentials on an international stage.

Industry recognition

“In a world where taste, provenance and sustainability in meat has never been greater, this competition recognises those in the industry that continue to strive to bring the best quality meat possible to people’s tables across the globe.”

Launched in 2015, the WSC delivers a recognised stamp of quality to support world-class steak production on a global platform.

Judging for the 2023 competition was held in Amsterdam with the winners announced at a special awards dinner at London-based steakhouse Smith & Wollensky. A total of 346 medals were awarded in the 2023 challenge, including a record 134 gold medals, with 120 steaks given silver medals and 92 steaks bronze medals.

Last year’s overall winner was Australian producer Jack’s Creek, which took home the accolade for its grain-fed wagyu black angus cross sirloin, which was also named the World’s Best Sirloin and World’s Best Grain Fed Steak as well as Oceanian’s Best Steak. 

Related topics NPD

Related news

Show more

Follow us

Featured Jobs

View more


Food Manufacture Podcast

Listen to the Food Manufacture podcast