Food Manufacture Excellence Awards

Finnebrogue Artisan crowned Food Manufacture Company of the Year

By Gwen Ridler

- Last updated on GMT

Food Manufacture Excellence Awards winners 2023

Related tags FMEAs Awards

Finnebrogue Artisan has been crowned Food Manufacture Company of the Year at the 2023 Food Manufacture Excellence Awards.

The manufacturer faced fierce competition to take home the accolade at the glamourous black-tie event, once again held at London’s Hilton Bankside and hosted by Inside the Factory’s​ Cherry Healey.

Finnebrogue also took home the Oscar for Plant-based Manufacturing Company of the Year, recognising the company’s success since entering the category in 2020. The manufacturer has seen terrific growth over the past 10 years, going from £3m to more than £200m and has made significant investments in state-of-the-art manufacturing facilities.


The headline sponsor:


Event Sponsors:




Foodex Manufacturing Solutions​​​​​ ​​​​



National Skills Academy/OAL​​​

The People Co​​​


With 17 categories up for grabs, the awards night recognised and rewarded the very best in operating standards and processes in today’s UK food and drink manufacturing sectors.

Apprentice of the Year

Daisy Abson – Coca-Cola Europacific Partners (CCEP) – was named Apprentice of the Year for her extreme devotion and leadership in her position at CCEP’s Wakefield site, which included playing an instrumental role in solving machine breakdowns.

Raynor Foods also made a splash at this year’s awards, taking home two accolades – Chilled Fresh & Dairy Manufacturing Company of the Year and the Future Talent Award, the latter awarded to Patrick Jackson.

Richard Clothier of Wyke Farms was voted Business Leader of the Year for both his innovative strategic steer of the company and the manufacturer’s notable actions in sustainability that have taken place under his leadership. This includes its 100% Green mission that has seen Wyke Farms become the first UK grocery brand to achieve 100% self-sufficiency in generating green gas and electricity.

Food Manufacture editor Bethan Grylls commended all the winners and their amazing achievements in keeping the nation fed despite challenging headwinds.

‘Adaptability and dedication’

“The range and standard of the entries we received demonstrates not just the level of hard work that the sector offers, but also their adaptability and dedication in providing answers to some of the most difficult obstacles we’ve faced,”​ she added.

“This is, without a shadow of a doubt, a solutions-driven industry that has proven time and time again, just how devoted it is in keeping the nation fed with safe, sustainable and nutritious food.

“On behalf of Food Manufacture and everyone behind the scenes of the awards, I’d like to extend a huge congratulations to the winners, as well as the finalists – you are ones to watch if you made it that far! I look forward to seeing next year’s entries in due course, which I am sure will be just as excellent, but 2023 has certainly set a precedent.”

Meanwhile, follow our social medias to see exclusive interviews with some of the winners and watch out for our video round-up from the night here on

Food Manufacture Excellence Awards winners 2023

Food Manufacture Company of the Year 2023:​ Finnebrogue Artisan

Chilled, Fresh & Dairy Manufacturing Company of the Year:​ Raynor Foods

Ambient Manufacturing Company of the Year:​ Fudge Kitchen

Bakery Manufacturing Company of the Year: ​Baker & Baker

Free-from Manufacturing Company of the Year:​ Moo Free

Frozen Manufacturing Company of the Year:​ Birds Eye

Ingredients Manufacturing Company of the Year:​ Carr’s Flour Mills

Meat, Poultry & Seafood Manufacturing Company of the Year:​ Westaway Sausages

Pet Food Manufacturing Company of the Year:​ Butternut Box

Plant-Based Manufacturing Company of the Year:​ Finnebrogue Artisan

Export Award:​ Simply Doughnuts

Partnership Award:​ Klüber Lubrication and Tunnocks

Sustainability Award:​ Moy Park

Training Award:​ Charlie Bigham’s

Apprentice of the Year:​ Daisy Abson, Coca-Cola Europacific Partners

Future Talent Award:​ Patrick Jackson at Raynor Foods

Site Team of the Year:​ Pilgrim’s UK – Corsham

Business Leader of the Year:​ Richard Clothier

Related topics Business Leaders

Related news

Show more

Follow us

Featured Jobs

View more


Food Manufacture Podcast

Listen to the Food Manufacture podcast