Food Manufacture Excellence Awards: new features

By Rod Addy contact

- Last updated on GMT

Last year’s overall winner was SK Chilled Foods
Last year’s overall winner was SK Chilled Foods
Key partners of food and drink manufacturers in various fields can encourage their customers to submit an entry to the free-to-enter Food Manufacture Excellence Awards (FMEAs) to win recognition of their collaborative efforts.

New features launched for the first time this year are designed to raise the profile of such partnerships in vital areas such as training, supply chain and technology.

In addition, People Awards have been introduced to recognise the achievements of individuals and teams as well as companies. There are four such awards: Site Team of the Year, Future Business Leader of the Year, Apprentice of the Year and 2018 Business Leader. This last award is not applied for, but is chosen by the judges from a shortlist of nominees generated by industry.

For more information on what is required for entry, and to start the entry process, click here.

Deadline approaching

There is now less than two weeks to complete entries for the FMEAs, set up 18 years ago to reward and benchmark excellence in UK food and drink processing.

As the entry deadline of 30 July approaches rapidly, an independent panel of experts with more than 100 combined years of experience in the industry prepares to vet the steady flow of submissions already registered.

Still, more contenders are always welcome. As applying now takes place online, making it easier than ever before, there is no excuse for suppliers with a story to tell not to put themselves forward, raise their profile and boost staff morale.

Unlike so many other awards, which are focused on product development, the FMEAs, which are now widely established and recognised as the Oscars of the sector, focus on operational achievements and innovations.

Two streams

Manufacturers with sales of less than £10m and those with turnovers of £10m or more will be split into two streams for the ten main categories, giving contenders from each group an equal chance of winning. Judges then choose the recipient of the ultimate accolade, Food Manufacture Company of the Year, from these winners.

This year, the judges will be ably chaired by Iain Ferguson, joint chairman of the Food and Drink Sector Council, chairman of Stobart Group and former Tate & Lyle boss.

For 2018, Foodservice Manufacturing Company of the Year, Frozen Foods Manufacturing Company of the Year and Ingredients Manufacturing Company of the Year are new main categories.

In addition, Beverages Manufacturing Company of the Year has been split into two separate awards: Drinks (alcoholic) Manufacturing Company of the Year and Soft Drinks Manufacturing Company of the Year.


Entrants in these categories must demonstrate achievements in at least three of the following areas: product development and innovation; production and processing; customer service; marketing; quality assurance; health & safety; food safety; efficiency and waste management; supply chain & logistics; training.

They should outline the benefits to the businesses of these achievements in terms of financial performance or market share and to its customers on the basis of one or more testimonials. All information submitted will be treated in the strictest confidence.

The awards will be announced at a black tie, big-top-themed gala evening held at the Hilton on Park Lane, London on Wednesday 7 November.

In addition to the dedicated awards website, prospective entrants can find out more about the requirements for entry and other information by contacting​ or calling 01293 610422.

FMEAs: become a sponsor

Don’t miss out on the chance to be a sponsor of the awards and reap the benefits of the raised profile and networking opportunities that go with that honour.

Contact nyvk.uhagre@jeoz.pbz​ or call 01293 846548 to hear more.

KDH Projects​ and Systems Integration​ have already signed up as sponsors. Could you be next?

Related news

Show more

Follow us


View more