Best of Irish chicken producers rewarded by Moy Park

By Helen Arnold

- Last updated on GMT

Northern Irish chicken producer Moy Park has recognised its top-performing farmers at a special awards ceremony.

The occasion, which was held at the Armagh City Hotel on 1 June, rewarded those who have delivered sustained improvement in agricultural standards over the past year. Prizes included those for Innovation, Higher Welfare and Young Grower of the Year.

"As a leading food company, agriculture excellence is at the heart of our business, so this awards ceremony - now in its 17th year - provided us with the perfect opportunity to recognise and reward the top-performing Moy Park farmers across Northern Ireland for their outstanding work,"​ said Moy Park's UK and Ireland director Alan Gibson. ."

"The category winners have all demonstrated a commitment to sustainability, welfare and quality - an ethos that we consider incredibly important at Moy Park. We continue to work closely with our farming base across Northern Ireland and GB to ensure our standards and practices are industry-leading."

Award winners include:

Grandparent Rearing Award

Stanley Gordon from Churchill, Enniskillen, Co Fermanagh

Grandparent Laying Award

Derek McKeown from Ballygawley, Co Tyrone

Parent Stock Rearing Award

Ian Millar from Sion Mills, Co Tyrone

Parent Stock Laying Award - Small

Alan, Noeleen and Stephen Holden from Donemanagh, Co Tyrone

Parent Stock Laying Award - Large

Ian Trimble from Donaghmore, Co Tyrone

Alternative Breed Award

Billy Nixon from Donemanagh, Co Tyrone

Standard/Standard Plus Award - Small

Declan McCloskey from Loughgiel, Co Antrim

Standard/Standard Plus Award - Large

Brian Quinn from Donaghmore, Co Tyrone

High Welfare Award - Small

William Montgomery from Broughshane, Co Antrim

High Welfare Award - Large

Paul Hobson from Dungannon, Co Tyrone

Free Range Rearing Award

Ian Alexander from Templepatrick, Co Antrim

Free Range Day Old to Finish Award

George McWhirter from Collone, Co Armagh

Free Range Finishing Award

Raymond Orr from Clogher, Co Tyrone

Organic Finishing Award

Kingsley Bell from Aughnacloy, Co Tyrone

Turkey Breeder Award

Jack Compton from Rathkenny, Co Antrim

Turkey Free Range Award

Emma and Cathal McAuley from Cushendall, Co Antrim

Turkey High Welfare/Standard Award

Patrick McGinley from Omagh, Co Tyrone

Best Young Poultry Breeder Award

Jonny Kirk from Saintfield, Co Down

Best Young Grower Award

Gareth Murray, Aghalee, Co Antrim

Innovation Award

Graham McIlroy from Aghadowey, Co Londonderry

Follow us

Featured Events

View more


View more