Food Manufacturing Excellence Awards

Food Manufacturing Excellence Awards – vintage year

By Mike Stones

- Last updated on GMT

Related tags: Food manufacturing excellence, Foods manufacturing company, Manufacturing excellence awards, Manufacturing, Lean manufacturing, Food

It was a vintage year for entries in the Food Manufacturing Excellence Awards (FMEA), according to Paul Wilkinson, chairman of the judging panel.

Speaking after judging the 50-plus entries last week (September 26), Wilkinson highlighted two key themes from this year’s award entries. Those were the key contribution of sustainability policies to profitable businesses and the role of people – in the form of leadership, training and team motivation.

Tune in to this video to hear Wilkinson talk in detail about this year’s entries and the overall winner of the coveted Food Manufacturing Excellence Award Company of the Year.

Watch out next week for the full FMEA shortlist.

So, the judging is complete, the winners have been selected, now it’s time to ensure you are one of the first to hear who has won what, by booking your seat at the FMEA gala dinner, hosted by TV star Julia Bradbury​.

TV star Julia Bradbury

Book your place for the champagne drinks reception, fabulous three course dinner and after dinner entertainment here​ or by contacting Rebecca George by telephone on 01293 610422 or erorppn.trbetr@jeoz.pbz .

Meanwhile, this year’s judging panel was composed of leading figures in the food and drink industry, whose job it was to select the best of the best.

Wilkinson is chairman of Thorntons board of directors, grain co-operative Fengrain, food and drink sector skills council Improve and the National Skills Academy. He also chairs Food Manufacture​’s Business Leaders’ Forum.

More information about the food and drink manufacturing Oscars is available here​.


The 2013 Judging Panel

  • Paul Wilkinson, chairman
  • Jonathon Bayne, food technologist – ambient grocery, Waitrose
  • Simon Chattock, head of vendor assurance, Compass Group UK & Ireland
  • Mark Colvin, lean manufacturing consultant, Leanpal
  • Jean Feord, independent regulatory affairs consultant
  • Dale Fiddy, sales and marketing director, NFT Distribution Operations
  • Justine Fosh, chief executive, National Skills Academy
  • Estelle Herszenhorn, programme manager, Waste & Resources Action Programme
  • Wayne Morley, head of ingredients and product Innovation, Leatherhead Food Research
  • Rick Pendrous, editor, Food Manufacture
  • Jeremy Richardson, director, Suiko
  • Mike Stones, group editor, Food Manufacture


2013 Awards categories

  • Ambient manufacturing company of the year
  • Bakery manufacturing company of the year
  • Chilled and fresh foods manufacturing company of the year
  • Dairy manufacturing company of the year
  • Frozen foods manufacturing company of the year
  • Meat, poultry and seafood manufacturing company of the year
  • Environmental initiative of the year


Special Awards

  • Food manufacturing company of the year
  • Best new use of food ingredients
  • Supply chain initiative
  • Training programme of the year
  • Environmental initiative of the year
  • Most innovative small food or drink manufacturer
  • Judges’ special award


And the winners are … join us at the Park Lane Hilton on Thursday November 21 to find out.

Related news

Show more

Related product

Carbon Reduction for Large Energy Users

Carbon Reduction for Large Energy Users

ESB Energy | 12-Nov-2021 | Product Brochure

ESB Energy Business Solutions can help you meet your companies carbon targets by 2050. We offer a range of sustainable tailored solutions to reduce the...

Follow us


View more