Food and drink industry Oscars: three days to go

By Mike Stones

- Last updated on GMT

Congratulations to all the shortlisted candidates
Congratulations to all the shortlisted candidates

Related tags: Britvic soft drinks, Food manufacturing company, Food, Food and drink, Coca-cola

Good luck to all the companies competing for a Food Manufacturing Excellence Award on Monday November 5. Premier Foods, Coca-Cola Enterprises and Iglo Food Group are just three of the firms battling for the top honours.

Win or lose, says congratulations to all the shortlisted candidates taking part in this year’s awards – the Oscars of the food and drink manufacturing industry.

There’s not much longer to wait until the winners are revealed on the big night​ .

The shortlisted candidates are:

  • Ambient Company of the Year​: Burts Chips; Greencore Grocery; Mars Food; and Moguntia Food Ingredients
  • Bakery Company of the Year​: Allied Bakeries; Butt Foods; and Walker & Son
  • Cakes and Biscuits Company of the Year​: Border Biscuits; Rich Products; and American Muffin
  • Beverages Company of the Year​: Britvic Soft Drinks; and Solution Sciences
  • Chilled and Fresh Company of the Year​: Greencore Northampton; Hazeldene; Mash Direct; and Raynor Foods
  • Ice Cream Company of the Year​: Fredericks Dairies; and R&R Ice Cream
  • Frozen Company of the Year​: Green Gourmet; Iglo Food Group; and Lewis Meat and Pasty Co
  • Protein Company of the Year​: Adams Foods; Dawn Meats Group; Lossie Seafoods; Taste Tradition; Young’s Seafood
  • Environmental Initiative of the Year​: Coca-Cola Enterprises; Kelly’s of Cornwall; Premier Foods; Young’s Seafood; and United Biscuits
  • Training Programme of the Year​: Bakkavör – Hitchen Foods; Britvic Soft Drinks; Fairfax Meadow; Greencore Grocery; and Tillery Valley
  • Small Company of the Year​: Butt Foods; Mash Direct; Moguntia Food Ingredients; and Raynor Foods

At the November event, awards will also be made for:

  • Food Manufacturing Company of the Year​, selected from the winners of the eight individual sector categories
  • Judges’ Special Award​ will be made to the company which the judging panel believe deserves recognition for one particular area of its activities.
  • Personality of the Year

Candidates in the Personality of the Year Shortlist are:

  • Judy Buttriss, ​director general, British Nutrition Foundation
  • Michael Clarke, ​ceo, Premier Foods
  • Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall, ​TV personality, chef and fisheries campaigner
  • James Lambert,​ chief executive R&R Ice Cream
  • Levi Roots,​ food entrepreneur
  • Perween Warsi, ​food entrepreneur

You can tweet comments before, during and after the big night by using the twitter handle #FMEA12.

There’s still time to book a last-minute place at the food and drink manufacturing Oscars by calling Rebecca George on 01293 610422 or email her on erorppn.trbetr@jeoz.pbz​.

See you on Bonfire Night.

Related news